Practical Living

Grocery Stores in The Villages: Every Publix Plaza, the Aldi, Sprouts, Winn-Dixie and the New Walmarts

Groceries are the errand you run more than any other, and in The Villages the question is not only which store but whether you can get there by golf cart. This guide lists every grocer the developer's plaza pages show as of November 2026, with addresses, hours from the stores' own pages, and what changed this year.

By Cristian Gonzalez, REALTOR®, eXp Realty · · Practical Living

What grocery stores are in The Villages, Florida?

As of November 2026, the developer's plaza pages list Publix as the anchor at eight shopping plazas, plus Winn-Dixie at Pinellas and La Plaza Grande, Aldi at Lake Sumter Landing and Sprouts at CR 466 and Buena Vista Boulevard. Walmart opened a Supercenter on Waxman Drive in March 2026 and runs Neighborhood Markets on Heald Way and in Lady Lake.

The short version

  • Publix anchors eight plazas: Mulberry Grove, Colony, Southern Trace, Grand Traverse, Lake Deaton, Spanish Plaines, La Plaza Grande and Magnolia.
  • The four Publix store pages checked list the same hours: 7 a.m. to 9 p.m. daily, with pharmacies open 9 to 9 on weekdays.
  • Aldi replaced the Winn-Dixie at Lake Sumter Landing in July 2025 and was reported as reachable by golf cart.
  • Walmart opened its first Supercenter in The Villages on March 4, 2026, and a Neighborhood Market at Mulberry Grove is listed as coming soon.
  • The Eastport and Brownwood directories list no supermarket, so newer villages rely on Magnolia Plaza, the Walmarts and smaller markets.

How many grocery stores are in The Villages?

There is no single official count, but the developer's shopping pages, checked November 3, 2026, show Publix at eight plazas, Winn-Dixie at two, one Aldi and one Sprouts. Walmart adds a Supercenter and Neighborhood Markets. That is about fifteen full grocers in and around the community, before counting specialty markets.

The developer publishes a page for each shopping plaza, and each page lists its tenants. Reading them one by one is the only way to build a complete picture, because the main shopping and dining page names the five town centers but no grocery stores.

Here is what those pages show as of November 2026:

  • Publix: the anchor at Mulberry Grove, Colony, Southern Trace, Grand Traverse, Lake Deaton, Spanish Plaines, La Plaza Grande and Magnolia.
  • Winn-Dixie: Pinellas Plaza and La Plaza Grande, each with a Winn-Dixie liquor store.
  • Aldi: 820 Old Camp Road, on the Lake Sumter Landing directory. La Plaza Grande lists a second Aldi as coming soon.
  • Sprouts Farmers Market: at the corner of CR 466 and Buena Vista Boulevard.
  • Walmart: a Supercenter on Waxman Drive near Morse Boulevard and SR 44, the Heald Way Neighborhood Market, and a Neighborhood Market at 1220 Hwy 466 in Lady Lake.

Because tenant lists change, treat this as a snapshot. A listing on a plaza page is the closest thing to an official open sign; anything tagged coming soon has no published date.

Which shopping plazas in The Villages have a Publix?

Eight developer-listed plazas have a Publix Super Market with a Publix Liquors next door: Mulberry Grove, Colony, Southern Trace, Grand Traverse, Lake Deaton, Spanish Plaines, La Plaza Grande and Magnolia. Several also have a Walgreens or CVS, and most of the plaza pages describe golf cart access.

The table pulls the address, the pharmacy picture and any golf cart note from each plaza's own page. Where a page says nothing about carts, the table says so rather than guessing.

Publix-anchored plazas in The Villages, from thevillages.com and publix.com, checked November 3, 2026
PlazaAddress listedPharmacies listedGolf cart note on the plaza page
Mulberry Grove8780 SE 165th Mulberry LnPublix PharmacyConvenient by golf car
Colony327 Colony Blvd (Publix)Publix Pharmacy, WalgreensNot stated
Southern Trace3475 Wedgewood LnPublix PharmacyPublix and Ace Hardware described as golf car accessible
Grand Traverse2925 Traverse TrlPublix Pharmacy with drive-thruGolf car access to Publix
Lake Deaton695 Kristine WayWalgreensNot stated
Spanish Plaines1566 Bella Cruz DrWalgreensGolf car friendly
La Plaza Grande1120 Bichara BlvdNone listedNot stated; a golf car dealer is a tenant
Magnolia2135 Everglades LnCVS PharmacyGolf car accessible

Pharmacy column lists only what the plaza page or the Publix store page names. The Lake Deaton and Spanish Plaines Publix store pages were not read for this post, so their in-store pharmacy status is not shown.

La Plaza Grande is the only plaza whose page says it has two grocery stores: a Publix and a Winn-Dixie, with an Aldi on the way. If a choice of grocers within one parking lot matters to you, that plaza stands out.

What are Publix hours in The Villages?

The four Publix store pages checked for this post, Mulberry Grove, Colony, Southern Trace and Grand Traverse, all list 7 a.m. to 9 p.m. every day. Their pharmacies list 9 a.m. to 9 p.m. on weekdays, 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. Saturday and 11 a.m. to 6 p.m. Sunday, as of November 2026.

Publix keeps its hours consistent across these stores, but the liquor stores are where the differences hide.

Publix store, pharmacy and liquor hours from publix.com, checked November 3, 2026
StoreStore phonePharmacy phoneLiquor store SundayExtras listed
Mulberry Grove (#4)352-751-0301352-751-0304ClosedCurbside, Instacart, sushi
Colony Plaza (#1155)352-391-1802352-391-180810 a.m. to 7 p.m.Tag renewal kiosk, curbside, Instacart
Southern Trace (#1080)352-751-6280352-751-630210 a.m. to 7 p.m.Catering consultants, curbside, Instacart
Grand Traverse (#1487)352-750-1056352-750-271410 a.m. to 7 p.m.Drive-thru pharmacy, curbside, Instacart

All four liquor stores list 9 a.m. to 9 p.m. Monday through Saturday. The Mulberry Grove liquor store is the one that lists no Sunday hours at all, so plan a Sunday liquor run around one of the other three. The supermarket page itself lists wine and beer.

Every one of the four lists curbside pickup, curbside pharmacy and Instacart delivery. Holiday hours differ, so check the store page before Thanksgiving or Christmas.

Which grocery stores in The Villages can you reach by golf cart?

The developer's plaza pages describe golf cart access at Mulberry Grove, Southern Trace, Grand Traverse, Spanish Plaines, Pinellas and Magnolia, and the Aldi at Lake Sumter Landing was reported as fully cart accessible. Stores outside the community's boundary, such as those reported at Trailwinds Village in Wildwood, are not reachable by cart.

For many residents the cart is the grocery car, so this is a real filter. The plaza pages use the developer's term, golf car, and the ones that mention it are listed above. Colony, Lake Deaton and La Plaza Grande pages do not say either way, which does not mean you cannot get there; it means the page does not tell you.

Three practical points that matter more than the label:

  • The route, not the store. Whether a plaza is cart friendly for you depends on the path from your street: multi-modal path, cart tunnel or bridge, or a road crossing. Ride it once before you count on it. Our golf cart living guide covers how the network and the rules work.
  • Cargo space. A week of groceries in a two-seat cart takes a rear basket or cooler. Curbside pickup at Publix or Walmart can take the loading off your hands.
  • The boundary. Villages-News reported in 2020 that the Trailwinds Village Publix on CR 466A in Wildwood, across from Pinellas Plaza, sits outside the community's cart boundary. Shops outside that line are car trips.

Is there an Aldi, Sprouts or Winn-Dixie in The Villages?

Yes. Aldi opened at 820 Old Camp Road at Lake Sumter Landing on July 10, 2025, replacing a Winn-Dixie. Sprouts Farmers Market sits at CR 466 and Buena Vista Boulevard. Winn-Dixie is still listed at Pinellas Plaza and La Plaza Grande, and La Plaza Grande shows an Aldi as coming soon, as of November 2026.

Aldi at Lake Sumter Landing

Lake and Sumter Style reported the store opened on July 10, 2025, in the former Winn-Dixie space, as the first Aldi inside The Villages proper. It is smaller than the store it replaced. The Lake Sumter Landing directory now lists it as the square's only grocer.

Sprouts Farmers Market

The developer's opening notice placed Sprouts at the corner of CR 466 and Buena Vista Boulevard and listed it as open daily from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m., with pickup, delivery and catering. That notice was last updated in March 2023, so confirm current hours with the store.

Winn-Dixie

Pinellas Plaza, at 2500 Burnsed Blvd, lists a Winn-Dixie and a Winn-Dixie Wine and Spirits along with a Walgreens. La Plaza Grande lists a Winn-Dixie and its liquor store next to the Publix.

Smaller and specialty markets

Sawgrass Grove's directory lists Provisions Grocery and Essentials and The Local Butcher and Market. These are not full supermarkets, but for milk, bread and a good steak they can save a longer trip.

Where are the Walmart stores in and around The Villages?

Walmart opened its first Supercenter in The Villages on March 4, 2026, on Waxman Drive near Morse Boulevard and SR 44. Walmart's site also lists the Heald Way Neighborhood Market at 270 Heald Way and a Neighborhood Market at 1220 Hwy 466 in Lady Lake. Another Neighborhood Market near Mulberry Grove is listed as coming soon.

Walmart was the biggest grocery change of 2026 in the area.

  • The Supercenter. Walmart's announcement gives the address as 11115 Waxman Drive; Villages-News printed 1115 Waxman Drive. Use the store's own page or your map app for the number. Walmart says the store offers drive-thru pharmacy, curbside pickup and delivery in as little as an hour, including prescriptions.
  • Heald Way Neighborhood Market (#4565). 270 Heald Way, The Villages, 352-461-5017.
  • Lady Lake Neighborhood Market (#2345). 1220 Hwy 466, Lady Lake, 352-561-7725.
  • Mulberry Grove area, coming. Villages-News reported in March 2026 that construction had begun on a 47,982 square foot Neighborhood Market at SE Hwy 42 and SE 91st Phillips Court, in front of Phillips Villas. Walmart's March release said it was expected in fall 2026, and the Mulberry Grove plaza page still lists it as coming soon.

Store hours on Walmart's pages vary by department and were not fully readable for this post, so check the store page before you go.

Where do residents south of SR 44 and near Eastport buy groceries?

The Publix at Magnolia Plaza, 2135 Everglades Lane at Warm Springs Boulevard and Marsh Bend Trail, opened in March 2021 as the first grocery store south of SR 44. The Eastport and Brownwood directories list no supermarket as of November 2026, so the Walmart Supercenter and smaller markets fill in.

This is the section that matters most if you are looking at the newer villages. Villages-News described the Magnolia Plaza Publix at opening as a 48,387 square foot store with a pharmacy, bakery and deli. The plaza also lists a CVS Pharmacy and calls itself golf car accessible.

Eastport's directory, updated October 23, 2026, is restaurants, coffee and shops, with no supermarket. Brownwood lists two pharmacies, Scripts Pharmacy and The Pharm Stand, but no grocer. Sawgrass Grove has the smaller markets described above; our Sawgrass Grove guide lists every counter there.

If you are comparing homes in the south of SR 44 section or the southwest and newest villages, map the drive or cart ride to Magnolia Plaza and to the Waxman Drive Supercenter from each address. A few minutes each way, two or three times a week, adds up over a year.

Does being close to a grocery store matter when choosing a village?

It matters more than most buyers expect, because groceries are a weekly or twice-weekly trip, often by cart. Being near a Publix plaza also usually means being near a pharmacy, a bank and casual dining. The trade-off is traffic and noise near busy plazas, so check both the distance and the route.

Buyers tend to judge a village by its recreation center, its pool and its distance to a town square. Those matter. But the grocery trip happens more often than any of them, and in the heat of summer a long cart ride with perishables is a different errand than it is in January.

A simple way to use this guide: pick two or three candidate villages in the village finder, then find the nearest plaza in the table above for each. Note whether the plaza page mentions cart access, whether it has a pharmacy, and whether you would cross a main road to get there. Then add the real cost of the home, amenity fee and bond, using the cost of living page, so convenience and price sit side by side.

The local take

I was born and raised in Marion County, and I represent buyers independently. When people tell me what they want from a home in The Villages, they rarely say groceries. They say golf, the squares, friends. Then they move in and find the Publix run is the trip they make most.

The trade-off people miss. Living right behind a busy plaza is convenient, but it can also mean delivery trucks, parking lot lights and more traffic on the nearest road. A home a few minutes away by cart often gets the convenience without the noise. I would rather you see both before you choose.

What I would check on any home. First, the actual route to the nearest grocer by cart, not the straight line on a map. Second, whether that plaza also has the pharmacy you will use, because pairing the two errands saves a lot of trips. Third, for the newest villages, what is open today versus listed as coming soon. I would never count on a store that does not have a date.

If you send me the villages you are considering, I will map the grocery, pharmacy and town square distances for each and put them next to the bond and monthly cost, so the lifestyle and the numbers are on one page.

Frequently asked questions

Is there a Publix liquor store open on Sunday in The Villages?

Three of the four Publix liquor stores checked, at Colony Plaza, Southern Trace and Grand Traverse, list Sunday hours of 10 a.m. to 7 p.m. The Mulberry Grove Publix Liquor Store lists no Sunday hours, as of November 2026. Check publix.com before you go, especially around holidays.

Which Publix in The Villages has a drive-thru pharmacy?

Of the four Publix store pages read for this post, only Grand Traverse Plaza, at 2925 Traverse Trail, lists a drive-thru pharmacy. Walmart says its Waxman Drive Supercenter has one. All four Publix stores checked offer curbside pharmacy.

Can you renew a vehicle or golf cart tag at Publix in The Villages?

The Colony Plaza Publix page, 327 Colony Blvd, lists a tag renewal kiosk among its services. It was the only one of the four Publix pages checked that listed one. What the kiosk can renew is set by the state and county, so confirm with the kiosk or your county tax collector.

Do grocery stores in The Villages deliver?

Yes. Every Publix store page checked lists Instacart delivery and curbside pickup. Walmart says its Supercenter offers delivery in as little as an hour, including prescriptions, and the developer's Sprouts notice listed pickup and delivery. Fees and windows are set by each service, so check the app.

Is Winn-Dixie still in The Villages?

As of November 2026, the developer's plaza pages list Winn-Dixie at Pinellas Plaza, 2500 Burnsed Blvd, and at La Plaza Grande, 1120 Bichara Blvd. The former Winn-Dixie at Lake Sumter Landing became an Aldi in July 2025, and La Plaza Grande lists an Aldi as coming soon.

Sources. Every fact above was checked against these on the dates shown. Schedules, prices and hours change; confirm before you go.

More from the Lifestyle Journal

Local, independent, sourced

Thinking about living here?

I am Cristian Gonzalez, a REALTOR® with eXp Realty, born and raised in Marion County and a U.S. Navy Veteran. I represent buyers independently and I do the homework before you write an offer: the bond, the true monthly cost, the resale record, and the drive to the places you will actually go.

Want the grocery run mapped for your short list?

Send me the villages you are considering. I will map the cart route to the nearest grocer and pharmacy for each, and put it next to the bond and full monthly cost.

Optional. Text is fine.

Goes to Cristian Gonzalez directly. Never sold or shared.